I can relate to this song. Every time I am heart broken or heart broken-ish, I change my hair. Whether I get a drastic cut, new bangs, or a complete change of color, I always feel a little bit better about myself. It’s cathartic and empowering. I think most girls know what I’m talking about.

Anyways, I got my hair dyed from a light, honey brown to a deep reddish brown yesterday and I love it. I guess I wanted to go darker because that’s kind of how I feel on the inside these days. A bit more like I don’t have to be so nice all the time, that I can and should put myself first at this point in my life, that I’m strong, and that I don’t have to apologize for who I am. And yes I admit the impulse was sparked by an unrequited liking for a guy who also happens to be a friend. But I’ve been through this sort of thing before. And hey, at least my hair looks good.

