I stopped following boy bands after *NSYNC broke my heart by breaking up back in the early 00’s. And since their magical, musical reign, the term “boy band” has continued to have a negative connotation associated with it. However, for me and my friends, there was absolutely nothing negative about it. From the Backstreet Boys and 98 Degrees to O-Town and Westlife, these talented, young men knew how to make us smile. Whether we had a bad day at school or just got dumped by some insignificant boy, these bands knew how to make us feel beautiful and uplift our spirits in mere minutes. I knew they weren’t singing directly to me or about me yet I didn’t care. The music itself made me happy. And that was always enough. Boy bands were my musical therapists and I will be forever indebted to them.

Here’s a great new track from the super popular 5 Seconds to Summer. I hope the young girls (and boys) today appreciate the bands of their generation as much as my age group (30) appreciated ours.

 

 

