Since it’s June and we are 6 months into the year (already?!?) I thought I’d do what all the cool kids do and list some great albums I listened to in 2015 so far. The criteria for ending up in this list is simple – me liking the majority of the album. And not just the singles, but the deep cuts and the middle-men. If you’re looking for some new music, I’d suggest spending some time diving into these 3 artists + their recent albums:

Meghan Trainor’s Title

This album was a sweet surprise for me when I listened to it in its entirety one random day in the office. Her throwback, old-school vibes are evident, but what I enjoy even more than that are her brilliant, often witty lyrics. Upon hearing some of the verses, I can’t help but be reminded of the fabulous Pink – they have a similar no-time-for-bullshit, don’t-fuck-with-me-but-if-you-do-good-luck-with-that aura about them, which I personally find inspirational. The collection of songs that make up Title are fun to sing-a-long to, yes, but they are powerful statements about love and relationships and being a woman. And as a woman, I’m all about this album.

Standout Song: “Walkashame”

For those who like: Ponytails. The 50′s. Bass (well, obviously).

Tove Styrke’s Kiddo

I’ve said it and I’ll say it again, Sweden produces some kick-ass female pop stars. This album isn’t straight up pop though – it has a bit more spunk to it with reggae undertones (most prominently showcased in “Borderline”) and electro-pop beats (heard in ”Burn”, which is a spectacular song btw). I missed a chance to see Tove in NYC recently but I hope to not make that mistake again.

Standout Song: “Ego”

For those who like: Southeast Asian motif. Braids. Mai Tai’s.

Purity Ring’s another eternity

This album takes you to an otherworldly, celestial place. With bewitching vocals and dream-like beats, another eternity is purely magical. If there was ever a time when we could send bands to play in outer space, Purity Ring would get my vote hands down. If you want to escape reality for a bit, turn this record on.

Standout Song: “heartsigh”

For those who like: Aliens. Astronomy. Daydreaming.

