I’m single. And not exactly thrilled about Valentine’s Day this year (or any year) but I plan on working out, drinking wine and pampering myself so there’s that. Anyways, even if I’m not in love currently, I can still appreciate beautiful love songs. Here’s a short(ish) list of songs that you may want to cozy up to with whomever your valentine is this year, even if it’s yourself. Self-love is important people. But I digress.

Rascal Flatts “Bless The Broken Road”: For all the hopeless romantics, like myself, who still haven’t found love but imagine this song playing during the first dance at their future wedding.

Dave Matthews Band “Crash Into Me”: An essential pick for all of us who can’t get over the phenomenal music of the 90’s. Oh, and the TV show Roswell.

Marc Cohn “True Companion”: A song that has elicited many tears from my eyes sung by a man whose music is a little bit like heaven on earth.

Train “When I Look To The Sky”: For my grandparents. Always.

Amel Larrieux “Make Me Whole”: Because I don’t think enough people have heard the beautiful dream that is this song.

Ellie Goulding “Your Song: Cover song magic.

Ben Folds “The Luckiest”: For the love of the piano.

Lifehouse “You & Me”: Because Jason Wade’s voice is love.

John Mayer “The Heart Of Life”: For the love of life and living in general. ‘Cause that’s really what it’s all about, after all.

And last but never least:

Disney’s “A Whole New World”: This song, from Aladdin, can be sung by any one and I will like it. Even me. And that’s saying something.

