https://open.spotify.com/track/7BQTMQ4V3TrSxppO5Y1Cr5?plead=please-dont-download-this-or-our-lawyers-wont-let-us-host-audio

Throwback Thursday + Valentine’s Day song pick

Ben Taylor “Surround Me”

If I had to pick a top 10 or even top 5 list of my all-time favorite songs, “Surround Me” would 99% make the cut. What I love about the song is its simplistic beauty. “Surround Me” is a winning combination made up of the sound of the acoustic guitar and the softness of Ben Taylor’s voice. I was lucky enough to see Ben perform this song live one night a few years ago (2007 I think) at Joe’s Pub in NYC. He performed a lot of his songs acoustically that night, which I was super happy about. For “Surround Me” in particular, it was just Ben, his guitar, and a spotlight. Watching the song come to life right in front of me was like an out-of-body experience. I tend to feel that way every time I see one of my favorite songs performed live. I’m taken away to this other place entirely. I wish I could go there more often. 

Anyways, since it also happens to be Valentine’s Day, I felt this song perfectly describes my current love life or lack thereof (“Now in the heat of this dreadful dry, I’m needing you….”) Oh love. 

